Converse County School District #1 **Douglas, Wyoming**

Official minutes of the regular meeting of the Board of Education held May 12, 2020 via Zoom.

Vice-Chairman Mark Horr called the Regular Board meeting to order at 7:34 p.m.

ROLL CALL: Vice-Chairman Mark Horr, Jennifer Rinn, Jay Butler, Dax McCarty, Tom Holt, Ryan

Igo, Brad Reese, and Shane Stinson.

ADMINISTRATORS

PRESENT: Tony Witbrod, Tanya Seeds, Brent Notman, Wes Gamble, Jessica McGuire, Haylei

Butler, Justin Carr, Ryan Mackey, Mitch Johnson, John Bartling, Doug Hughes, Penny Hawk, Monty Gilbreath, Tracy Boner, Steve Walker, Andrea Gilbert, Paige Fenton

Hughes.

ALLEGIANCE TO THE

AMERICAN FLAG: Those present quoted the Pledge of Allegiance.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Tom Holt made a motion to approve the May 12, 2020, agenda. Seconded by Shane

Stinson. Motion carried.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the minutes from April 14, 2020, Regular Board

meeting. Seconded by Tom Holt. Motion carried.

FINANCIAL REPORT: Jay Butler made a motion to approve the May financial report for General Funds checks

General Funds checks #103233 - #103369; Federal Programs checks #20551 - #20567; BOCES checks #3617 - #3626; Major Maintenance check #4146; Hot Lunch checks #6429 - #6493; Student Funds checks #21566 - #21580; Bearcat Loyalty checks #1021 - #1024; Day Care checks #1144 - #1145; Health Care checks #1653 - #1656; Payroll Clearing checks #94874 - #94987; Direct Deposit #1702756 - #1703506. Seconded by

Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.

DATES FOR YOUR

CALENDARS: Board agenda meeting is scheduled on June 1, 2020, at 12:00 p.m. Board policy meeting

will be on June 1, 2020 at 3:30 p.m. The next Rec and Regular Board Meetings will be

June 9, 2020 at 7:15 pm.

SPOTLIGHT EMPLOYEE: Jay Butler presented the Staff Spotlight Recognition Award to Karla Pellatz for her work

as a teacher for Dry Creek Rural School.

CLASSIFIED STAFF

MEMBER OF THE YEAR: Andrea Gilbert presented the Classified Staff Member of the Year to Toni Sharp for her

work as the Central Receptionist and Secretary.

DISTRICT ART: Justin Carr shared photos of various art projects from CCSD1 students.

AUDIENCE RECOGNIZED: None

POLICIES: Jay Butler made a motion to approve the third and final reading for policies ADD – Safe

Schools, IKF – Graduation Requirements, JG – Assignment of Students to Classes and Grade Levels, JIC – Student Conduct, JICG/JICH – Alcohol/Tobacco/Drug/Substance Abuse by Students, JIE/JIG – Married or Pregnant Students, JIC – Student Conduct, JLCD-R – Administering Medicine to Students. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion

carried.

Paige Fenton Hughes shared information on policies ADD-E – Injury Report, DJB-E – Rules for Use of Credit Card, EHA – Student Data Security, JICE – Student Publications.

MILL APPROVAL: Tom Holt made a motion to approve allocation of: ½ mill for EWC BOCES, 1/10 mill to

NW BOCES, 4/10 mill for NE BOCES, and 1 mill for Recreation. Seconded by Jennifer

Rinn. Motion carried.

2020-21 PRELIMINARY

BUDGET: Tracy Boner presented the 2020-21 preliminary budget as an informational item.

EXPENDITURE

BUDGET TRANSFERS: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to Call for Hearing on Expenditure Budget Transfers on

June 9, 2020 at 7:00 pm. Seconded by Dax McCarty. Motion carried.

SRRP REPRESENTATIVE: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to appoint and approve Tracy Boner as the SRRP

Representative. Seconded by Tom Holt. Motion carried.

DISTRICT PAPER: Shane Stinson made a motion to approve the call for bids for district paper with a closing

date on June 2, 2020 at 2:00 pm. Seconded by Dax McCarty. Motion carried.

BUS LEASE INTEREST: Dax McCarty made a motion to approve the call for bids for bus lease interest with a

closing date on June 2, 2020 at 2:30 pm. Seconded by Ryan Igo. Motion carried.

IBN: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to ratify the IBN Compensation Package as presented.

Seconded by Dax McCarty. Motion carried.

SSS INITIAL PLACEMENT: Shane Stinson made a motion to approve the Student Support Services Initial Placement

contract from April 23, 2020 – June 30, 2020, with an amount not to exceed \$32,824.00.

Seconded by Tom Holt. Motion carried.

SSS CONTRACT RENEWAL: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the Student Support Services contract renewal

from July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021, with an amount not to exceed \$175,536.00. Seconded

by Shane Stinson. Motion carried.

DEAF INTERVENTION: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve Deaf Intervention Services, LLC, Independent

Contractor Agreement from August 1, 2020 – July 31, 2021 at a rate not to exceed \$67.00

per hour. Seconded by Shane Stinson. Tom Holt abstained. Motion carried.

SHAWNEE RURAL SCHOOL: Brad Reese made a motion to approve the Shawnee Rural School bid from K&R

Construction. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion failed.

DMS NETWORK UPGRADE: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve call for bids on CCSD1 DMS network upgrade

with a closing date of May 29, 2020, at 12:00 pm, with the bid opening at 2:30 pm.

Seconded by Tom Holt. Motion carried.

DIS NETWORK UPGRADE: Shane Stinson made a motion to approve call for bids on CCSD1 DIS network upgrade

with a closing date of May 29, 2020, at 12:00 pm, with the bid opening at 2:00 pm.

Seconded by Dax McCarty. Motion carried.

PERSONNEL REPORT: Shane Stinson made a motion to approve the new hires of Shaylee Curren – DPS SpEd

teacher, Jackie Wells – DUES 5th grade teacher, Diana Lengkeek – SpEd Counselor, Jeff Kitterman – Summer Tech worker, Chayse Wilson – Summer Tech worker. Seconded by

Tom Holt. Motion carried.

Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the ESY/Summer School recommendations of Utahna Bourne – Deaf and Hard of Hearing teacher; Rosann Roberts, Kevin Roberts,

Dustin Gusse – Motor; Kari Yeaman, Mandi Barry, Jean Schroeder, Raegen Hubbard – School Nurse; Autumn Ostland, Dawn Sorg, Brooke Varland -SLP; Jessica Cross, Traci Logar – SLPA; Amanda Darr, O.T.; Carrie Hamik, O.T. paraprofessional; Stacy Wood, Social Skills; Andrea Hiser, Ashley Veldhuizen, Sherrie Koval - Paraprofessional. Seconded by Shane Stinson. Motion carried.

Ryan Igo made a motion to acknowledge the resignations of Laramie McCullough – DHS Computer Science/Engineering teacher, Brianna Pexton – DPS FSW1, Sonja Tennyson – DPS Counselor, Raegan Hubbard – DIS/DUES School Nurse (end of 2019-20 SY). Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.

Mark Horr recognized the transfer of Haylei Butler from DMS Interim Associate Principal to DMS Associate Principal/Rural Schools Principal for the 2020-21 school year, Jim Cobb from DMS STEAM teacher to DHS STEAM teacher, Andy Gann from DPS K teacher to DIS 3rd grade teacher, DeeAnn McCarty from DIS 3rd grade teacher to DIS Counselor, Rhonda Parker from DMS Secretary to DHS Activities Director Secretary, Carl Kosters from Moss Agate rural teacher to DIS Title I teacher, Phil Romero from DMS Social Studies teacher to DMS STEAM lab teacher

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Vice-Chairman Mark Horr asked the board members if there was a need for executive session. Ryan Igo made a motion for the board to move into executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel at 8:25 pm. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried. Dax McCarty made a motion to reconvene into regular session after executive session at 9:11 pm. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, the Regular Meeting adjourned at 9:12 p.m. by Vice-Chairman Mark Horr.

Mark Horr, Vice-Chairman	
Jay Butler, Clerk	