Converse County School District #1 Douglas, Wyoming

Official minutes of the regular meeting of the **Board of Education** held **December 10, 2019** in the Board Room of the School Administration Office.

Chairman Brandon Gilbreath called the Regular Board meeting to order at 7:31 pm.

ROLL CALL:	Chairman Brandon Gilbreath, Mark Horr, Jennifer Rinn, Jay Butler, Dax McCarty, Tom Holt, Ryan Igo, Shane Stinson.
ADMINISTRATORS PRESENT: ALLEGIANCE TO THE	Tony Witbrod, Tanya Seeds, Brent Notman, Wes Gamble, Jessica McGuire, Haylei Butler, Justin Carr, Ryan Mackey, Mitch Johnson, John Bartling, Doug Hughes, Penny Hawk, Monty Gilbreath, Steve Walker, Andrea Gilbert.
AMERICAN FLAG:	Those present quoted the Pledge of Allegiance.
OFFICER ELECTION:	Brandon Gilbreath called for nominations for the office of Board Chairman. Tom Holt made a motion to keep all the same officers as the prior year. Seconded by Shane Stinson. Members voted unanimously to keep all officers the same as the prior year. Motion carried.
APPROVAL OF AGENDA:	Mark Horr made a motion to approve the December 10, 2019, agenda. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.
APPROVAL OF MINUTES:	Tom Holt made a motion to approve the minutes from November 12, 2019, Regular Board meeting. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.
FINANCIAL REPORT:	Shane Stinson made a motion to approve the December financial report for General Funds checks101981 - #102232, with Mark Horr abstaining from ck#102221; Federal Programs checks #20357 - #20390; BOCES checks #3573 - #3586; Hot Lunch checks #6334 - #6351; Student Funds checks #21374 - #21413; Bearcat Loyalty checks #1014 - #1015; Day Care checks #1133 - #1134; Health Care checks #1632 - #1636; Payroll Clearing checks #94488 - #94579; Direct Deposit #1698548 - #1699402. Seconded by Ryan Igo. Motion carried.
DATES FOR YOUR CALENDARS:	Board agenda meeting is scheduled on January 6, 2020, at 12:00 p.m., with the policy meeting following at 3:30 p.m. Christmas/New Years Break from December 23, 2019 – January 3, 2020. The next Rec and Regular Board Meetings will be January 14, 2020 at 7:15 pm at Central Administration. Legislators dinner will be held on January 15, 2020. NSBA Annual Conference in Chicago IL from April 3-6, 2020. DHS Graduation will be on May 10, 2020.
ART DISPLAY:	Jay Butler shared information on the art display from Douglas Middle School.
GRADUATE:	Chairman Brandon Gilbreath and DHS Principal Ryan Mackey honored DHS graduate Kisa King.
SPOTLIGHT EMPLOYEE:	Jay Butler presented The Staff Spotlight Recognition Award to Dena Christiansen for her work with the CCSD1 Athletic Department.
TEACHER OF THE YEAR:	Jay Butler recognized Chris Collins as Teacher of the Year.
AUDIENCE RECOGNIZED:	No one from the audience wished to be recognized.

AUDIT PRESENTATION:	Paul Stille of Leo Riley and Co. presented a recap of the district annual audit.
POLICIES:	Jay Butler made a motion to approve the third and final reading for policies BEDF – Voting Method, JEA-E – Consent to Withdraw, JFA – Admission Procedures, JH – Student Absences and Excuses, JHB – Truancy, JLCB – Immunization of Students. Seconded by Tom Holt. Motion carried.
	Jay Butler made a motion to approve the second reading and call for written comments by 2:00 p.m. on December 20, 2019, on policies KB – Parent Involvement in Education, KD – Public Information and Communications, KDDA – News Releases, KJ – Relations with Community Organizations, GCI-E – Education Incentive Form, GDEA – Advertising Positions. Seconded by Tom Holt. Motion carried.
	Paige Fenton Hughes shared information on policies: GCI-RB – Professional Development Opportunity Approval Process, KF – Community Use of School Facilities, KFA – Public Conduct on School Property/School Events, KHB – Advertising in Schools, KI – Visitors to Schools.
BOARD GOALS:	Mark Horr made a motion to approve the Board goals. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.
COMMITTEE	
APPOINTMENTS, BOCES MEMBER & ALTERNATE:	Tom Holt discussed the new format for the committee appointments. Brandon Gilbreath asked members to contact him with any preferences regarding committee and BOCES assignments for the coming year.
WSBA CONFERENCE:	Paige Fenton Hughes and Jay Butler shared information from the WSBA Annual Conference.
APPROVAL OF ANNUAL AUDIT:	Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the annual audit as presented by Leo Riley & Co. Seconded by Mark Horr. Motion carried.
ASL STIPEND:	Mark Horr made a motion to approve the proposed ASL stipend for Nila Castro, Janie Back, and Heather Warner. Seconded by Shane Stinson. Motion carried.
ASL STIPEND: 2020 BOARD CALENDAR:	
	Back, and Heather Warner. Seconded by Shane Stinson. Motion carried.Ryan Igo made a motion to approve the 2020 Board Calendar as presented. Seconded by
2020 BOARD CALENDAR: OUT OF DISTRICT	Back, and Heather Warner. Seconded by Shane Stinson. Motion carried.Ryan Igo made a motion to approve the 2020 Board Calendar as presented. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.Shane Stinson made a motion to approve the out of district student request. Seconded by

EXECUTIVE SESSION:	Brandon Gilbreath asked the board members if there was a need for executive session. The board declined.
PERSONNEL REPORT:	Tom Holt made a motion to approve the new hires of Torrie Hill, Lexis Temple, Jenna Ford, Isabelle Mathis, Bryce Schuldies, Lauryn Curtis, Sutton Perry – Water Safety Instructors; Polly Ann Sines – Homebound Tutor, Stephanie Melchor – SpEd Wrestling Activities Aide, Jennifer Hernandez – DIS Custodian, Jaryn Evans – DHS Music Tech Student Worker, Becky Moore – SWAG (certified). Seconded by Ryan Igo. Motion carried.
	Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the extra duty contracts to Kristina Bush – DI Coach (K), Sarah Isner – DHS Assistant Cheer Coach-Winter. Seconded by Mark Horr. Motion carried.
	Tom Holt made a motion to approve the Fall activity extra duty contracts as presented. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.
	Jennifer Rinn made a motion to accept the resignations of Tatyana Keney – SpEd Paraprofessional, Erica Tschida – DIS Media Paraprofessional. Seconded by Mark Horr. Motion carried.
	Brandon Gilbreath recognized the transfers of Megan Adels from DHS Paraprofessional to AD Secretary, Rulon Berry from DIS Custodian to DIS Lead Custodian, Carrie Weiss from Central/Den Head Custodian to DIS Custodian, Mel Schroeder from DIS Lead Custodian to Central/Den Head Custodian.
ADJOURNMENT:	There being no further business, the Regular Meeting adjourned at 8:29 p.m. by Chairman Brandon Gilbreath.

Brandon Gilbreath, Chairman

Jay Butler, Clerk