Converse County School District #1 **Douglas, Wyoming**

Official minutes of the regular meeting of the **Board of Education** held **November 12, 2019** in the Board Room of the School Administration Office.

Chairman Brandon Gilbreath called the Regular Board meeting to order at 7:42 pm.

ROLL CALL: Chairman Brandon Gilbreath, Mark Horr, Jennifer Rinn, Jay Butler, Dax McCarty, Tom

Holt, Ryan Igo, Brad Reese, Shane Stinson.

ADMINISTRATORS

PRESENT: Tony Witbrod, Tanya Seeds, Brent Notman, Wes Gamble, Jessica McGuire, Haylei

Butler, Justin Carr, Ryan Mackey, Mitch Johnson, John Bartling, Doug Hughes, Penny

Hawk, Tracy Boner, Monty Gilbreath, Steve Walker, Andrea Gilbert.

ALLEGIANCE TO THE

AMERICAN FLAG: Those present quoted the Pledge of Allegiance.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Mark Horr made a motion to approve the November 12, 2019, agenda. Seconded by

Tom Holt. Motion carried.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Mark Horr made a motion to approve the minutes from October 8, 2019, Regular Board

meeting. Seconded by Shane Stinson. Motion carried.

FINANCIAL REPORT: Tom Holt made a motion to approve the November financial report for General Funds

checks #101683 - #101980, with Mark Horr abstaining from ck#101829; Federal

Programs checks #20315 - #20356; Depreciation Reserve checks #1098 - #1099; BOCES checks #3564 - #3572; Major Maintenance checks #4141 - #4142; Hot Lunch checks #6308 - #6333; Student Funds checks #21335 - #21373, with Ryan Igo abstaining from ck#21356; Day Care checks #1131 - #1132; Health Care checks #1627 - #1631; Payroll Clearing checks #94407 - #94487; Direct Deposit #1697692 - #1698547. Seconded by

Ryan Igo. Motion carried.

DATES FOR YOUR

CALENDARS: WSBA Annual Conference will be November 20-22, 2019. Board agenda meeting is

scheduled on December 2, 2019, at 12:00 p.m., with the policy meeting following at 6:00 p.m. Thanksgiving break is scheduled for November 28 – 29, 2019, and Christmas/New Years break on December 23, 2019 – January 3, 2020. The next Rec and Regular Board Meetings will be December 10, 2019 at 7:15 pm at Central Administration. DHS

Graduation will be on May 10, 2020.

ART DISPLAY: Jay Butler shared information on the art display from Douglas Intermediate School.

SPOTLIGHT EMPLOYEE: Jay Butler presented The Staff Spotlight Recognition Award to Tonya Washington for

her work with the Special Education Department.

TEACHER OF THE YEAR: Teacher of the year will be recognized at the December 10, 2019 board meeting.

AUDIENCE RECOGNIZED: No one from the audience wished to be recognized.

POLICIES: Jay Butler made a motion to approve the third and final reading for policies GBEC –

Drug Free Workplace; GBEC-R – Notification to Employees of Drug Free Workplace; GBEC-E – Controlled Substances and Alcohol Testing for School Bus Drivers.

Seconded by Tom Holt. Motion carried.

Jay Butler made a motion to approve the second reading and call for written comments by 2:00 p.m. on November 25, 2019, on policies BEDF – Voting Method, JEA-E –

Converse County School District #1
Board Minutes

Consent to Withdraw, JFA – Admission Procedures, JH – Student Absences and Excuses, JHB – Truancy, JLCB – Immunization of Students. Seconded by Tom Holt. Motion carried.

Jay Butler and Tom Holt shared information on policies: KB – Parent Involvement in Education, KD – Public Information and Communications, KDDA – News Releases, KJ – Relations with Community Organizations, GCI-E – Education Incentive Form, GDEA – Advertising Positions.

SRO MOU: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the SRO MOU as presented. Seconded by

Shane Stinson. Motion carried.

LEGISLATORS' DINNER: The Legislators' dinner will be held January 15, 2019.

WSBA RESOLUTION: Jay Butler asked the board to email him with their thoughts regarding the WSBA

resolutions.

BOARD GOALS: Mark Horr shared information on the Board goals. They will be presented for approval at

the December 10, 2019, board meeting.

403(b) PLAN APPENDIX 1: Tracy Boner explained that the 403(b) Plan listing had one addition from last year.

Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the 403(b) Plan list as presented. Seconded by

Mark Horr. Motion carried.

BCI PROPOSAL: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the BCI Proposal. Seconded by Mark Horr.

Motion carried.

EWC/NORTHSIDE GRADE

SCHOOL BID: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to approve the EWC/Northside Grade School bid from Brett

and Chrisann Reese in an amount of \$109,000.00. Seconded by Mark Horr. Motion

carried with Brad Reese abstaining.

POLICIES: Shane Stinson made a motion to approve on first reading on policies: JFABD – Students

in Transition (Homeless Students), EFDA – Unpaid Meal Charge, KBDA - Parent

Involvement (Title I Schools). Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.

SHAWNEE: Brad Reese made a motion to approve the Shawnee RFP. Seconded by Shane Stinson.

Motion carried.

WSBA DELEGATE: Jennifer Rinn made a motion to appoint Jay Butler as the WSBA Delegate. Seconded by

Tom Holt. Motion carried.

EXECUTIVE SESSION: Brandon Gilbreath asked the board members if there was a need for executive session.

The board declined.

PERSONNEL REPORT: Brad Reese made a motion to approve the new hires of Aleta Ducat – DHS

paraprofessional, Colton Roark - DPS SpEd paraprofessional, Avery Cowardin - DUES

SpEd paraprofessional. Seconded by Mark Horr. Motion carried.

Shane Stinson made a motion to approve the extra duty contracts to Emily Painter – DMS UA Team leader (half contract), Haley Clark – DHS Assistant Track Coach, Stephanie Melchor – DIS/DUES Yearbook Co-Sponsor, Mandi Seipel - DIS/DUES Yearbook Co-Sponsor, Haley Clark – DHS Indoor Assistant Track Coach, Dee Ann McCarty – DI Coach (3rd – 4th), Melody Bergquist – DI Coach (8th & 4th – 5th), April Petty – DI Coach (2nd), Allie Oban – DI Coach (1st – 3rd), Tony Witbrod – DI Coach (4th), Brianna Wass –

DI Coach (6th), Janet Buchhammer – DI Coach (3rd), E'Lanae Johnson – DI Coach (7th). Seconded by Ryan Igo. Motion carried.

Mark Horr made a motion to accept the resignations of Matthew Hoffman – Rec Center Custodian, Grace Herrick – Bus Driver. Seconded by Jennifer Rinn. Motion carried.

Brandon Gilbreath recognized the transfers of Adam Pauli from DMS UA Team leader (full contract) to DMS UA Team leader (half contract), Jeff Kitterman from Tech Support Specialist to DMS Media Specialist, Holly Chapman from PT Rec Building Monitor to Rec Building Custodian, Ashley Schoening from DHS SpEd Para to BASE Para, Tatyana Keney from DUES SpEd Para to DHS SpEd Para.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, the Regular Meeting adjourned at 8:07 p.m. by Chairman Brandon Gilbreath.

Brandon Gilbreat	h, Ch	airmar	1	
Jay Butler, Clerk				