Back of DUES building

About Us

Providing students with the skills needed to become productive citizens in a changing world and inspiring all students to become life-long learners by creating a safe, supportive learning environment is what drives the work of Converse County School District #1. The district serves the communities of Douglas, Bill, Shawnee, Esterbrook, and surrounding areas. The systems' approximately 1700 students attend ten schools ranging in size from Walker Creek's four students to Douglas High School's 520 students. The system has five rural schools (Dry Creek, Moss Agate, Shawnee, Walker Creek, and White) each serving grades K-8. In the community of Douglas there are Douglas Primary School serving grades K-1, Douglas Intermediate School serving grades 2-3, Douglas Upper Elementary School serving grades 4-5, Douglas Middle School serving grades 6-8, and Douglas High School serving grades 9-12. 
The typical student enrollment is approximately: 
  • Douglas Primary - 260
  • Douglas Intermediate - 245
  • Douglas Upper - 245
  • Douglas Middle School - 375
  • Douglas High School - 520
  • Dry Creek - 8
  • Moss Agate - 6
  • Shawnee - 17
  • Walker Creek - 4
  • White - 17
The North Platte River and I-25 run through the city of Douglas, and south of Douglas are the Laramie Mountains and the Medicine Bow and Rout National Forests. The Douglas community has approximately 6,100 involved parents and business owners who support our schools. Douglas' primary sources of employment are mineral industries, the railroad, the hospital, and the school district. Ranching is still a prominent industry in the Douglas area. The Wyoming State Fair is held annually in Douglas in the latter part of August. 
The district enjoys remarkable support from the community and works in close partnership with the City of Douglas, Converse County, the Boys and Girls Club, and Eastern Wyoming College (EWC). A number of dual and concurrent enrollment courses are offered to Douglas High School students through EWC.